Azərbaycan Respublikası Dağlıq Qarabağ bölgəsinin Azərbaycanlı İcması

az en ru


Azerbaİjan accuses Armenİa of İgnorİng calls for changİng status quo İn Karabakh conflİct

 APA. Armenia continues to ignore the calls of the international community for changing the status quo in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, Azerbaijan's Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov said on May 4.


He made the remarks during the meeting of Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the Visegrad Group and of the Eastern Partnership countries in Prague.


Mammadyarov noted that provocative actions of Armenian armed forces on the contact line of Armenian and Azerbaijani troops in early April have led to an unprecedented escalation in the history of the conflict.


The Azerbaijani side has always clearly stated that the presence of Armenian armed forces in Nagorno-Karabakh and seven surrounding districts is the main cause of instability and frequent military clashes on the contact line, said the minister.  


Azerbaijan is interested in resolving the conflict through negotiations, Mammadyarov said, stressing that the country’s ‘roadmap for peace and stability’ is clear and based on international law.


Mammadyarov added that Azerbaijan, like the countries of the Visegrad Group and Eastern Partnership, will never make concessions on the issue of its territorial integrity.


“As required by the UN Security Council resolutions, Armenian armed forces must unconditionally withdraw from the occupied Azerbaijani territories and the safe return of IDPs to their native lands must be ensured,” he concluded. 


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includesNagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, KalbajarAghdam,FuzuliJabrayilGubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACEOSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.  





İbad Hüseynov — Azərbaycan hərbçisi




  • ŞUŞA