Azərbaycan Respublikası Dağlıq Qarabağ bölgəsinin Azərbaycanlı İcması

az en ru

Press release

World Azerbaİjanİs adopts appeal on Karabakh conflİct to foreİgn countrİes

APA. The participants of the 4th Congress of World Azerbaijanis adopted an appeal on the Nagorno Karabakh conflict to the world community, international organizations, heads of governments and parliaments of foreign countries.


The appeal reflects deep concern over the Armenian-Azerbaijani Nagorno-Karabakh conflict’s remaining unresolved for 28 years.


It was noted that civilians are killed, settlements, educational institutions, public buildings are destroyed, historical monuments in the conflict zone, as well as flora and fauna are vandalized as a result of military provocations on the contact line of troops committed by the Armenian armed forces keeping Azerbaijani territories under occupation.


In the appeal, the participants of the congress urged the world community, international organizations, heads of governments and parliaments to put pressure on Armenian authorities for liberation of the occupied Azerbaijani territories and peaceful settlement of the conflict.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includesNagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, KalbajarAghdam,FuzuliJabrayilGubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACEOSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.






İbad Hüseynov — Azərbaycan hərbçisi




  • ŞUŞA